MEETING OF THE BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS SITTING AS THE GOVERNING BODY OF SEWER DISTRICT

REGULAR MEETING

AUGUST 26, 1998

The Regular Meeting of the Board of County Commissioners of Sedgwick County, Kansas, Sitting as the governing body of the Sewer District, was called to order at 11:40 a.m., Wednesday, August 26, 1998, in the County Commission Meeting Room in the Courthouse in Wichita, Kansas, Chairman Mark F. Schroeder; with the following present: Chairman Pro Tem Paul W. Hancock; Commissioner Betsy Gwin; Commissioner Thomas G. Winters; Commissioner Melody C. Miller; Mr. William P. Buchanan, County Manager; Mr. Rich Euson, County Counselor; Mr. Jarold D. Harrison, Assistant County Manager; Ms. Becky Allen-Bouska, Director, Bureau of Finance; Mr. David C. Spears, Director, Bureau of Public Works; Mr. Jim Weber, P.E. Director, Sewer Operations & Maintenance; Mr. Darren Muci, Director, Purchasing Department; Mr. Fred Ervin, Director, Public Relations; and Ms. Lisa Davis, Deputy County Clerk.

ROLL CALL

The Clerk reported, after calling roll, that all Commissioners were present.

CONSIDERATION OF MINUTES: Regular Meeting, July 29, 1998

The Clerk reported that all Commissioners were present at the Regular Meeting of July 29, 1998.

MOTION

Commissioner Hancock moved to adopt the Minutes of July 29, 1998.

Commissioner Gwin seconded the Motion.

There was no discussion on the Motion, the vote was called.

VOTE

Commissioner Betsy Gwin	Aye
Commissioner Paul W. Hancock	Aye
Commissioner Thomas G. Winters	Aye
Commissioner Melody C. Miller	Aye
Chairman Mark F. Schroeder	Aye

Regular Meeting, Sewer District, August 26, 1998

Chairman Schroeder said, "Thank you. Next item."

NEW BUSINESS

A. AGREEMENT WITH K-DA, INC. FOR PRIVATE CONSTRUCTION OF SEWERS FOR THE DAVIS-CRESTLAND ADDITION. DISTRICT #5.

Mr. Jim Weber, P.E., Director, Sewer Operations and Maintenance, greeted the Commissioners and said, "In Item A, we are requesting your approval of a contract with K-DA, Inc. for private construction of a sewer improvement serving the Davis-Crestland Addition. Installation of public sewer is a requirement of the platting of the property. All costs of the work including design, construction, staking, and inspection and actual construction, will be paid directly by the owners. Request your approval of the recommended action."

Chairman Schroeder said, "Thank you, Jim. Discussion? If not, what's the will of the Board?"

MOTION

Commissioner Hancock moved to approve the Agreement and authorize the Chairman to sign.

Commissioner Miller seconded the Motion.

There was no discussion on the Motion, the vote was called.

VOTE

Commissioner Betsy Gwin	Aye
Commissioner Paul W. Hancock	Aye
Commissioner Thomas G. Winters	Aye
Commissioner Melody C. Miller	Aye
Chairman Mark F. Schroeder	Aye

Chairman Schroeder said, "Thank you. Next item, please."

Regular Meeting, Sewer District, August 26, 1998

CONSENT AGENDA

B. CONSENT AGENDA.

Budget Adjustment Requests.

Number	<u>Department</u>	Type of Adjustment
980414	Tara Falls Addition-Sewer	Supplemental Appropriation
980415	Smithmoor 7th Phase 2- Sewer	Supplemental Appropriation

Mr. William P. Buchanan, County Manager, greeted the Commissioners and said, "You have the Consent Agenda before you and I would recommend you approve it."

MOTION

Commissioner Gwin moved to approve the Consent Agenda as presented.

Commissioner Hancock seconded the Motion.

There was no discussion on the Motion, the vote was called.

VOTE

Commissioner Betsy Gwin	Aye
Commissioner Paul W. Hancock	Aye
Commissioner Thomas G. Winters	Aye
Commissioner Melody C. Miller	Aye
Chairman Mark F. Schroeder	Aye

Chairman Schroeder said, "Thank you. Any other business to come before this Board? If not, we're adjourned."

C. OTHER

D. ADJOURNMENT

Regular Meeting, Sewer District, August 26, 1998

There being no other business to come before the Board, the Meeting was adjourned at 11:42 a.m.

BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS OF SEDGWICK COUNTY, KANSAS

	MARK F. SCHROEDER, Chairman
	Fifth District
	PAUL W. HANCOCK, Chairman Pro Tem
	Second District
	BETSY GWIN, Commissioner
	First District
	THOMAS G. WINTERS, Commissioner
	Third District
	MELODY C. MILLER, Commissioner
	Fourth District
ATTEST:	
James Alford, County Clerk	
APPROVED:	
, 1998	