MEETING OF THE BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS SITTING AS THE GOVERNING BODY OF FIRE DISTRICT #1

REGULAR MEETING

August 4, 1999

The Regular Meeting of the Board of County Commissioners of Sedgwick County, Kansas, Sitting as the Governing Body of Fire District #1, was called to order at 9:25 a.m., Wednesday, August 4, 1999, in the County Commission Meeting Room in the Courthouse in Wichita, Kansas, by Chairman Bill Hancock, with the following present: Chairman Pro Tem Betsy Gwin; Commissioner Thomas G. Winters; Commissioner Carolyn McGinn; Commissioner Ben Sciortino; Mr. William P. Buchanan, County Manager; Mr. Rich Euson, County Counselor; Mr. Gary Curmode, Fire Chief; Mr. David C. Spears, P.E., Director, Bureau of Public Works; Ms. Kristi Zuckovich, Public Affairs Officer; and Ms. Heather J. Knoblock, Deputy County Clerk.

ROLL CALL

The Clerk reported, after calling roll, that all Commissioners were present.

CONSIDERATION OF MINUTES: Regular Meeting, July 7, 1999

Chairman Hancock said, "Commissioners, you have received those Minutes and had an opportunity to review them. What's the will of the Board?"

MOTION

Commissioner Gwin moved to approve the Minutes of July 7, 1999

Commissioner Winters seconded the Motion.

There was no further discussion on the Motion, the vote was called.

VOTE

Commissioner Betsy Gwin	Aye
Commissioner Thomas G. Winters	Aye
Commissioner Carolyn McGinn	Aye
Commissioner Ben Sciortino	Aye
Chairman Bill Hancock	Aye

Chairman Hancock said, "Thank you. Next item, please."

A. PUBLIC HEARING REGARDING THE 2000 FIRE DISTRICT #1 BUDGET.

Mr. Bill Buchanan, County Manager, greeted the Commissioners and said, "You have the Fire District Budget in front of you, well have conducted two public hearings previous to this one. This budget calls for a total of \$10,790,432.00 or a tax increase of .912 mills. Included in this budget are the maintenance of service, a vehicle replacement program, replacement of some roofs, and the indication of service levels would continue at the high level that we have now. It appropriate, now, for the public to comment upon this budget, Mr. Chairman."

Chairman Hancock said, "Okay. Thank you. At this time, I will open the Meeting for public comment regarding the 2000 Fire District #1 Budget. Is there anyone who would like to comment on the budget for the year 2000? Is there anyone who would like to make a comment about the 19, 2000 budget? I'm never going to get passed the 19 business, am I? The 2000 Fire District Budget, is there anyone who would like to comment on that? Thank you. At this time I will close the public hearing. Mr. Buchanan."

Mr. Buchanan said, "Commissioners, since there are no other Agenda items on here, and it would be appropriate, I would recommend that you adopt the year 2000 Fire District budget."

Chairman Hancock said, "Thank you. Commissioners, comments or questions? If not, what is the will of the Board? Okay, the Fire District is out next year. Sorry guys."

MOTION

Commissioner Sciortino moved to adopt the 2000 Fire District #1 Budget, of \$10,790,432.00 with \$8,071,783.00 in budgeted ad valorem taxes or approximately 15.87 mills. Subject to review and technical adjustments.

Commissioner McGinn seconded the Motion.

There was no further discussion on the Motion, the vote was called.

VOTE

Commissioner Betsy Gwin	Aye
Commissioner Thomas G. Winters	Aye
Commissioner Carolyn McGinn	Aye
Commissioner Ben Sciortino	Aye
Chairman Bill Hancock	Aye

Chairman Hancock said, "Thank you. Is there further business?"

Mr. Buchanan said, "Thank you, Mr. Chairman. What I suggest, and we think we may just have, we don't know that we have a problem, but we may just have to check something, first. Rather that adjourn the Meeting, why don't you recess it, please."

Chairman Hancock said, "The Fire Meeting?"

Mr. Buchanan said, "Yes."

Chairman Hancock said, "Okay. Very good. At this time, I will recess the Fire District #1."

There being no other business to come before the Board, the Meeting was adjourned at 10:50 a.m. <u>BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS OF</u> <u>SEDGWICK COUNTY, KANSAS</u>

BILL HANCOCK, Chairman Second District

BETSY GWIN, Chair Pro Tem, First District

THOMAS G. WINTERS, Commissioner, Third District

CAROLYN McGINN, Commissioner, Fourth District

BEN SCIORTINO, Commissioner Fifth District

ATTEST:

James Alford, County Clerk

APPROVED:

<u>____, 1999</u>