# MEETING OF THE BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS SITTING AS THE GOVERNING BODY OF SEWER DISTRICT

#### **REGULAR MEETING**

#### June 23, 1999

The Regular Meeting of the Board of County Commissioners of Sedgwick County, Kansas, Sitting as the governing body of the Sewer District, was called to order at 10:11 a.m., Wednesday, June 23, 1999, in the County Commission Meeting Room in the Courthouse in Wichita, Kansas, with the following present: Chairman Pro Tem Betsy Gwin; Commissioner Thomas G. Winters; Commissioner Carolyn McGinn; Commissioner Ben Sciortino; Mr. William P. Buchanan, County Manager; Mr. Rich Euson, County Counselor; Mr. David C. Spears, P.E., Director, Bureau of Public Works; and Ms. Heather Knoblock, Deputy County Clerk.

#### **ROLL CALL**

The Clerk reported, after calling roll, that Chairamn Hancock was absent.

#### **CONSIDERATION OF MINUTES:**

Regular Meeting, May 26, 1999

The clerk reported that all Commissioners were present at the May 26, 1999 Regular Meeting.

#### **MOTION**

Commissioner Winters moved to approve the Minutes of the May 26, 1999 Meeting.

Commissioner McGinn seconded the Motion.

There was no further discussion on the Motion, the vote was called.

#### **VOTE**

Commissioner Betsy Gwin	Aye
Commissioner Thomas G. Winters	Aye
Commissioner Carolyn McGinn	Aye

Commissioner Ben Sciortino Aye Chairman Bill Hancock Absent

**CONSIDERATION OF MINUTES:** Regular Meeting, June 2, 1999

The clerk reported that all Commissioners were present at the June 2, 1999, Regular Meeting.

#### **MOTION**

Commissioner Winters moved to approve the Minutes June 2, 1999 of the Meeting.

Commissioner McGinn seconded the Motion.

There was no further discussion on the Motion, the vote was called.

#### **VOTE**

Commissioner Betsy Gwin	Aye
Commissioner Thomas G. Winters	Aye
Commissioner Carolyn McGinn	Aye
Commissioner Ben Sciortino	Aye
Chairman Bill Hancock	Absent

#### **NEW BUSINESS**

A. AGREEMENT WITH PROFESSIONAL ENGINEERING CONSULTANTS, P.A. FOR ENGINEERING, INSPECTION AND CONSTRUCTION STAKING SERVICES FOR THE BALTHROP ADDITION, PHASE 3; SANITARY SEWER PROJECT. DISTRICT #1.

**Mr. Jim Weber**, P.E., Director, Sewer Operations and Maintenance, greeted the Commissioners and said, "In Item A, we are requesting your approval of an Agreement with Professional Engeneering Commsultants for design services on Phase 3 of the Balthrop Addition sanitary sewer project. This

work will not exceed \$13,500.00. All costs of the project are to be paid by the benefitted properties through Special Assessments. And we request your approval of the recommended action"

#### **MOTION**

Commissioner Gwin moved to approve the Agreement and authorize the Chairman to sign.

Commissioner Sciortino seconded the Motion.

There was no discussion on the Motion, the vote was called.

#### **VOTE**

Commissioner Betsy Gwin	Aye
Commissioner Thomas G. Winters	Aye
Commissioner Carolyn McGinn	Aye
Commissioner Ben Sciortino	Aye
Chairman Bill Hancock	Absent

Commissioner Gwin said, "Thank you. Next item, please.

#### **CONSENT AGENDA**

#### B. CONSENT AGENDA.

#### **Right-of-Way Instruments.**

One Temporary Construction Easement and one Easement for Sanitary Sewer for the Brookhaven Sanitary Sewer Project, Phase 1. District #1.

**Mr. William P. Buchanan,** County Manager, greeted the Commissioners and said, "Commissioners, you have the Consent Agenda before you and I would recommend that you approve it."

# **MOTION**

Commissioner Winters moved to approve the Consent Agenda.

Commissioner McGinn seconded the Motion.

There was no discussion on the Motion, the vote was called.

## **VOTE**

Commissioner Betsy Gwin	Aye
Commissioner Thomas G. Winters	Aye
Commissioner Carolyn McGinn	Aye
Commissioner Ben Sciortino	Aye
Chairman Bill Hancock	Absent

Commissioner Gwin said, "Thank you. Is there further business? If not, we're adjourned."

#### B. OTHER

# C. ADJOURNMENT

There being no other business to come before the Board, the Meeting was adjourned at 10:13 a.m.

# BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS OF SEDGWICK COUNTY, KANSAS

BILL HANCOCK, Chairman
Second District

BETSY GWIN, Chair Pro Tem,
First District

THOMAS G. WINTERS, Commissioner,
Third District

CAROLYN McGINN, Commissioner,

Fourth District

**BEN SCIORTINO**, Commissioner Fifth District

ATTEST:

James Alford, County Clerk	
APPROVED:	
	1999