MEETING OF THE BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS SITTING AS THE GOVERNING BODY OF FIRE DISTRICT #1 REGULAR MEETING

April 18, 2001

The Regular Meeting of the Board of the County Commissioners of Sedgwick County, Kansas, was called to order at 11:52 A.M., on Wednesday, April 18,2001 in the County Commission Meeting Room in the Courthouse in Wichita, Kansas, by Chair Carolyn McGinn; with the following present: Chairman Pro Tem Ben Sciortino; Commissioner Betsy Gwin; Commissioner Tim R. Norton; Mr. William P. Buchanan, County Manager; Mr. Rich Euson, County Counselor; Mr. Greg Thompson, Fire Marshall, Sedgwick County Fire District #1; Mr. David Spears, Director, Bureau of Public Works; Ms. Iris Baker, Director, Purchasing Department and Ms. Lisa Davis, Deputy County Clerk.

ROLL CALL

The Clerk reported, after calling roll, that Commissioner Winters was absent.

DONATION

A. DONATION OF \$250 BY DEAN C. DOW, TO BE USED FOR THE FIRE DISTRICT HONOR GUARD.

Mr. Greg Thompson, Fire Marshall, Sedgwick County Fire District #1, greeted the Commissioners and said, "What we have before you is a request to accept a donation to the Sedgwick County Fire District Research and Development Fund to be used by the District's honor guard. This donation in the amount of \$250 was received from Dean C. Dow, Fire Chief of Ford County, near Dodge City. Recently, Chief Dow and his department experienced the loss of one of their members and our own honor guard here in Sedgwick County is very well known and respected throughout the State and was requested by Chief Dow to provide the honor guard for the funeral and burial services. We did honor this request. We sent several members to the services in Ford County and as a result Chief Dow wanted to express his appreciation to Sedgwick County and to our honor guard and this donation will be used by the honor guard to maintain and purchase uniform accessories, such as caps, badges, gloves, shoulder braids and so on. I would like to request that the Board accept the donation and authorize the Chair to sign a letter of appreciation. Be happy to answer any questions."

Chair McGinn said, "Commissioners, do I have a motion to accept?"

Commissioner Gwin said, "With the except that, in the back-up, I think the letter needs to be

Regular Meeting, April 18, 2001

amended because it indicates that the donation is going to go to the research and development division. That's not what you said Greg."

Mr. Thompson said, "It will go into the research and development division and they will disperse it to the honor guard. It will be earmarked and strictly used for the honor guard."

Commissioner Gwin said, "Thank you, very much."

MOTION

Commissioner Gwin moved to accept the donation and authorize the Chair to sign to sign a letter of appreciation.

Commissioner Norton seconded the Motion.

There was no discussion on the Motion, the vote was called.

VOTE

Commissioner Betsy Gwin	Aye
Commissioner Tim Norton	Aye
Commissioner Thomas Winters	Absent
Commissioner Ben Sciortino	Aye
Chair Carolyn McGinn	Aye

Chair McGinn said, "Thank you, Greg. Is there any other business to come before this Board? If not, we're adjourned."

B. OTHER

C. ADJOURNMENT

There being no other business to come before the Board, the Meeting was adjourned at 11:54 a.m.

Regular Meeting, April 18, 2001

BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS OF SEDGWICK COUNTY, KANSAS

	CAROLYN McGINN, Chair
	Fourth District
	BEN SCIORTINO, Chairman Pro Tem
	Fifth District
	BETSY GWIN, Commissioner
	First District
	TIM R. NORTON, Commissioner
	Second District
	THOMAS G. WINTERS, Commissioner
	Third District
ATTEST:	
ATTEST:	
	<u></u>
Don Brace, County Clerk	
APPROVED:	
	, 2001