MEETING OF THE BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS SITTING AS THE GOVERNING BODY OF FIRE DISTRICT #1

REGULAR MEETING

October 13, 2004

The Regular Meeting of the Board of the County Commissioners of Sedgwick County, Kansas, was called to order at 9:50 A.M., on Wednesday, October 13, 2004 in the County Commission Meeting Room in the Courthouse in Wichita, Kansas, by Chairman Thomas G. Winters; with the following present: Chair Pro Tem David M. Unruh; Commissioner Tim R. Norton; Commissioner Carolyn McGinn; Commissioner Ben Sciortino; Mr. Sherdeill Breathett Sr., County Economic Developer; Mr. William P. Buchanan, County Manager; Mr. Rich Euson, County Counselor and Ms. Lisa Davis, Deputy County Clerk.

ROLL CALL

The Clerk reported, after calling roll, that all Commissioners were present.

CONSIDERATION OF MINUTES:	Regular Meeting, August 11, 2004
	Regular Meeting, September 15, 2004
	Regular Meeting, September 22, 2004

The Clerk reported that all Commissioners were present at the Regular Meeting of August 11, 2004, that Commissioner Sciortino was absent at the Regular Meeting of September 15, 2004 and that all Commissioners were present at the regular meeting of September 22, 2004.

Chairman Winters said, "Commissioners, you've had a chance to review the Minutes. What's the will of the Board regarding August 11th and September 22nd?"

MOTION

Commissioner Unruh moved to approved the Minutes of the regular meetings of August 11, 2004 and September 22, 2004.

Commissioner McGinn seconded the motion.

There was no discussion on the Motion. The vote was called.

VOTE

Commissioner Unruh	Aye
Commissioner Norton	Aye
Commissioner McGinn	Aye
Commissioner Sciortino	Aye
Chairman Winters	Aye

Chairman Winters said, "Now, what's the will of the Board regarding September the 15th minutes?"

MOTION

Commissioner McGinn moved to approve the Minutes of the Regular Meeting of September 15, 2004.

Commissioner Norton seconded the motion.

There was no discussion on the Motion. The vote was called.

VOTE

Commissioner Unruh	Aye
Commissioner Norton	Aye
Commissioner McGinn	Aye
Commissioner Sciortino	Abstain
Chairman Winters	Aye

Chairman Winters said, "Next item."

NEW BUSINESS

A. AGREEMENT WITH CHARLES ENGINEERING, INC PROVIDING PAYMENT OF SERVICE CHARGES IN LIEU OF TAXES.

Mr. Sherdeill Breathett, Sr., County Economic Developer, greeted the Commissioners and said, "In lieu of the tax agreement with Charles Engineering, they have agreed to pay the Fire District for services for their facility. We would ask that the Chairman would be approved to sign this agreement."

Chairman Winters said, "Can you tell us how much that is and . . ."

Mr. Breathett said, "Yes. It's going to be in the amount of \$3,554."

Chairman Winters said, "Per year?"

Mr. Breathett said, "That's correct."

Chairman Winters said, "Okay. Commissioner Norton."

Commissioner Norton said, "I just want to be sure that, you know, the public understands that what's happened is we give them a tax abatement and now they're buying back into the fire district because you abate that tax and now they're buying back at the level they would have been at if they had paid it in taxes. So, just to be sure that people understand what this means."

Chairman Winters said, "All right, very good. Thank you, Commissioner, appreciate that clarification. Is there any other questions or comments? What's the will of the Board?"

MOTION

Commissioner Unruh moved to approve the Agreement and authorize the Chairman to sign.

Commissioner Norton seconded the motion.

There was no discussion on the Motion. The vote was called.

VOTE

Commissioner Unruh	Aye
Commissioner Norton	Aye
Commissioner McGinn	Aye
Commissioner Sciortino	Aye
Chairman Winters	Aye

Chairman Winters said, "Thank you very much, Sherdeill. Is there any other business to come before the Fire District #1? Seeing none, we will adjourn Fire District #1."

B. OTHER

C. ADJOURNMENT TO ITEM F.3 OF THE REGULAR MEETING OF THE BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS.

There being no other business to come before the Board, the Meeting was adjourned at 9:53 a.m.

BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS OF SEDGWICK COUNTY, KANSAS

THOMAS G. WINTERS, Chairman Third District

DAVID M. UNRUH, Chair Pro Tem First District

TIM R. NORTON, Commissioner Second District

CAROLYN McGINN, Commissioner Fourth District

BEN SCIORTINO, Commissioner Fifth District

ATTEST:

Don Brace, County Clerk

APPROVED:

, 2004