MEETING OF THE BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS SITTING AS THE GOVERNING BODY OF FIRE DISTRICT #1

REGULAR MEETING

February 24, 2010

The Regular Meeting of the Board of the County Commissioners of Sedgwick County, Kansas, was called to order at 11:30 a.m., on Wednesday, February 24, 2010, in the County Commission Meeting Room in the Courthouse in Wichita, Kansas, by Chairman Karl Peterjohn; with the following present: Chair Pro Tem Gwen Welshimer; Commissioner David M. Unruh; Commissioner Tim R. Norton; Commissioner Kelly Parks; Mr. William P. Buchanan, County Manager; Mr. Rich Euson, County Counselor; Mr. Gary E. Curmode, Fire Chief; and Ms. Angela Lovelace, Deputy County Clerk.

ROLL CALL

The Clerk reported, after calling roll, that all Commissioners were present.

CONSIDERATION OF MINUTES:

Fire Meeting December 16, 2009 All Commissioners were present

Chairman Peterjohn said, "What is the will of the body?"

MOTION

Commissioner Parks moved to accept the Minutes as read for the Fire District Meeting of December 16, 2009.

Commissioner Unruh seconded the motion.

There was no discussion on the motion, the vote was called.

VOTE

Commissioner Unruh	Aye
Commissioner Norton	Aye
Commissioner Peterjohn	Aye
Commissioner Welshimer	Aye
Chairman Parks	Aye

CONSIDERATION OF MINUTES:

Fire Meeting February 3, 2010 All Commissioners were present

MOTION

Commissioner Parks moved to accept the Minutes as read for the Fire District Meeting of February 3, 2010.

Commissioner Unruh seconded the motion.

There was no discussion on the motion, the vote was called.

VOTE

Commissioner Unruh	Aye
Commissioner Norton	Aye
Commissioner Peterjohn	Aye
Commissioner Welshimer	Aye
Chairman Parks	Aye

Chairman Peterjohn said, "Next item."

NEW BUSINESS

A. SCFD #1 POSITION CONVERSION ON THE STAFFING TABLE.

Mr. Gary E. Curmode, Fire Chief, greeted the Commissioners and said, "Today I'm before you to talk about approving the staffing table change for Station 39, our newest station in the southwest part of the county. Our plan since 2008 has been to configure the Station 39 with one captain, two firefighters per shift. Captains are first line managers at all the stations. They have the expertise to engage and ensure that the day to day operations of our stations are carried out in a safe and efficient manner."

Chief Curmode continued, "The operations of the Fire District depend upon captains as our first line supervisors on daily duty at each station. The actual cost of the conversion is \$29,256. This funding is by delaying some laptop and desktop purchases this year for our department. A captain assigned to Station 39 will ensure that the station is run in a safe and efficient manner consistent with the other stations in the district. They have the experience, background and authority needed for supervising and managing the station. I'm available for any questions."

Chairman Peterjohn said, "Any questions for the Chief?"

MOTION

Commissioner Welshimer moved to approve the staffing table change.

Commissioner Unruh seconded the motion.

Chairman Peterjohn said, "Commissioner Parks."

Commissioner Parks said, "I would just like to say that I believe we all we were briefed on this, and I certainly appreciate the way the Chief moves around the items to facilitate these moves and save the taxpayers' money. Thank you."

Chief Curmode said, "Thank you, sir."

Chairman Peterjohn said, "I'll state for the record that I agree with Commissioner Parks on that. Seeing no further comments from Commissioners, please call the vote."

VOTE

Commissioner Unruh	Aye
Commissioner Norton	Aye
Commissioner Parks	Aye
Commissioner Welshimer	Aye
Chairman Peterjohn	Aye

B. OTHER

Chairman Peterjohn said, "Thank you. Seeing no further action, I will entertain a motion to adjourn from the Fire District."

MOTION

Commissioner Parks moved to adjourn the Fire District meeting.

Commissioner Norton seconded the motion.

There was no discussion on the motion, the vote was called.

VOTE

Commissioner Unruh	Aye
Commissioner Norton	Aye
Commissioner Parks	Aye
Commissioner Welshimer	Aye
Chairman Peterjohn	Aye

C. ADJOURNMENT

There being no other business to come before the Board, the Meeting was adjourned at 11:34 a.m.

	BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS OF
	SEDGWICK COUNTY, KANSAS
	KARL PETERJOHN, Chairman Third District
	DAVID M. UNRUH , Commissioner First District
	TIM R. NORTON, Commissioner Second District
	KELLY PARKS, Commissioner Fourth District
	GWEN WELSHIMER, Commissioner Fifth District
ATTEST:	
Kelly B. Arnold, County Clerk	
APPROVED:	
May 12, 2010	