MEETING OF THE BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS SITTING AS THE GOVERNING BODY OF FIRE DISTRICT #1

REGULAR MEETING

May 12, 2010

The Regular Meeting of the Board of the County Commissioners of Sedgwick County, Kansas, was called to order at 11:32 a.m., on Wednesday, May 12, 2010, in the County Commission Meeting Room in the Courthouse in Wichita, Kansas, by Chairman Karl Peterjohn; with the following present: Chair Pro Tem Gwen Welshimer; Commissioner David M. Unruh; Commissioner Tim R. Norton; Commissioner Kelly Parks; Mr. William P. Buchanan, County Manager; Mr. Rich Euson, County Counselor; Mr. Bob Lamkey, Director, Public Safety; and Ms. Katie Asbury, Deputy County Clerk.

ROLL CALL

The Clerk reported, after calling roll, that all Commissioners were present

CONSIDERATION OF MINUTES Fire Meeting February 24, 2010

All Commissioners were present

CONSIDERATION OF MINUTES Fire Meeting March 3, 2010

All Commissioners were present

Chairman Peterjohn said, "What is the will of the Commission?"

MOTION

Commissioner Welshimer moved to approve the Minutes as read for the Fire meetings of February 24, 2010, and March 3, 2010.

Chairman Peterjohn seconded the motion.

There was no discussion on the motion, the vote was called.

VOTE

Commissioner Unruh Aye
Commissioner Norton Aye
Commissioner Parks Aye
Commissioner Welshimer Aye
Chairman Peterjohn Aye

Chairman Peterjohn said, "Next item."

NEW BUSINESS

A. ONE-TIME APPOINTMENTS OF GREG SEVIER AND GOLDIE ROBINSON TO A SEDGWICK COUNTY FIRE DISTRICT INJURY LEAVE REVIEW BOARD.

Mr. Bob Lamkey, Director, Public Safety, greeted the Commissioners and said, "And as a matter of background, Article 23 of the current agreement between Sedgwick County Fire District #1 and IAFF (International Association of Fire Fighters) Local 2612 provides for two-tier injury relief benefits. The initial benefit is for injuries occurred while responding or returning from a response, during all proficiency training, apparatus cleaning or maintenance, physical training, or when performing inspections, or when away from Sedgwick County Fire District real property in a fire district or other plainly marked government vehicle. This is an article that's been in there for some time. The initial benefit provides for all normal workmen's compensation coverage as required by the state, plus injury leave not to exceed 360 hours, which shall be used before all other types of leave available to the individual.

"The second benefit, which extends to one year from the date of injury, is reserved only for those injured while responding or returning from a response while engaged in hazardous training, or when engaged in required physical fitness training. It provides for sustained compensation beyond the initial benefit without loss of accumulated leave of any type. Further, Article 23 requires that a board consisting of the Fire Chief, the Union President, the Human Resources Director and two members appointed by the Governing Body of the Fire District, that's you, review the applicability of the one-year benefit. In short, the board needs to determine if an injury suffered by an eligible member occurred during a qualifying event. The board's decision is subject to review by the governing body, which may affirm or reverse the board's decision within 21 days of receipt. After 21 days without action from the governing body, the board's decision is final."

Mr. Lamkey continued, "It is recommended that the governing body appoint Greg Sevier and Goldie Robinson to a special purpose, one time appointment, injury leave review board to consider the applicability of the one-year benefit for firefighter Justin Scripsick. Mr. Sevier serves as Chair of the Arena [Sales] Tax Oversight Committee and Ms. Robinson serves on the [Sheriff's] Civil Service Board. Both are known for their fairness and sound judgment and have agreed to serve if appointed. And it's my recommendation that you approve the appointments."

MOTION

Commissioner Norton moved to approve the appointments.

Commissioner Welshimer seconded the motion.

There was no discussion on the motion, the vote was called.

VOTE

Commissioner Unruh	Aye
Commissioner Norton	Aye
Commissioner Parks	Aye
Commissioner Welshimer	Aye
Chairman Peterjohn	Aye

Mr. Lamkey said, "Thank you very much."

Chairman Peterjohn said, "Next item."

B. OTHER

Chairman Peterjohn said, "Is there anything under Item...or I will entertain a motion to adjourn the Fire District board meeting."

MOTION

Commissioner Parks moved to adjourn the meeting of the Fire District #1.

Commissioner Welshimer seconded the motion.

There was no discussion on the motion, the vote was called.

VOTE

Commissioner Unruh	Aye
Commissioner Norton	Aye
Commissioner Parks	Aye
Commissioner Welshimer	Aye
Chairman Peterjohn	Aye

Chairman Peterjohn said, "We are adjourned from the Fire District board meeting."

C. ADJOURNMENT

There being no other business to come before the Board, the Meeting was adjourned at 11:35 a.m.

BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS OF SEDGWICK COUNTY, KANSAS

	KARL PETERJOHN, Chairman
	Third District
	DAVID M. UNRUH , Commissioner First District
	TIM R. NORTON, Commissioner Second District
	KELLY PARKS, Commissioner Fourth District
	GWEN WELSHIMER, Commissioner Fifth District
ATTEST:	
Kelly B. Arnold, County Clerk	
APPROVED:	
July 7, 2010	

July 7, 2010