MEETING OF THE BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS SITTING AS THE GOVERNING BODY OF FIRE DISTRICT #1

REGULAR MEETING

June 9, 2010

The Regular Meeting of the Board of the County Commissioners of Sedgwick County, Kansas, was called to order at 11:11 a.m. on Wednesday, June 9, 2010, in the County Commission Meeting Room in the Courthouse in Wichita, Kansas, by Chairman Karl Peterjohn; with the following present: Chair Pro Tem Gwen Welshimer; Commissioner David M. Unruh; Commissioner Tim R. Norton; Mr. William P. Buchanan, County Manager; Mr. Rich Euson, County Counselor; Mr. Gary E. Curmode, Fire Chief; and Ms. Katie Asbury, Deputy County Clerk.

ROLL CALL

The Clerk reported, after calling roll, that Commissioner Parks was absent.

Chairman Peterjohn said, "Next item."

DONATION

A. DONATION IN THE AMOUNT OF \$500 FROM INSURANCE WOMEN OF WICHITA

Mr. Gary E. Curmode, Fire Chief, greeted the Commissioners and said, "We have received a donation in the amount of \$500 from the Insurance Women of Wichita. I would recommend we accept the donation and authorize the Chairman to send a letter of appreciation."

MOTION

Chairman Peterjohn moved to accept the donation and authorize the Chairman to send a letter of appreciation.

Commissioner Welshimer seconded the motion.

Chairman Peterjohn said, "And there's a second. Any further discussion or comment? Quick question; have we received a contribution from the Insurance Women of Wichita in the past to the Fire District?"

Chief Curmode said, "Mr. Chairman, yes, we have. Usually in May of each year we have an appreciation award, if you will, breakfast at the Botanica [The Wichita] Gardens. I saw some of the Commissioners there this year. And they give a \$500 check to the various emergency departments in both the city and the county."

Chairman Peterjohn said, "Well it's a wonderful event. I had the opportunity to attend this year and there were a lot of county employees from various departments; Fire Department, EMS (Emergency Medical Services) and the Sheriff's Office and they are to be, Insurance Women of Wichita are to be commended for having an outstanding event and I'm just delighted to be able to vote to accept this donation and sign a letter acknowledging it. Seeing no further discussion, please call the vote."

VOTE

Commissioner Unruh	Aye
Commissioner Norton	Aye
Commissioner Parks	Absent
Commissioner Welshimer	Aye
Chairman Peterjohn	Aye

Chairman Peterjohn said, "Next item."

CONSENT

1. Donation in the amount of \$50 from the Petroleum Club.

Mr. William P. Buchanan, County Manager, greeted the Commissioners and said, "Commissioners, you have the Consent Agenda before you and I would recommend you approve it."

MOTION

Commissioner Welshimer moved to approve the Consent Agenda.

Chairman Peterjohn seconded the motion.

Chairman Peterjohn said, "And I'll also be willing to, just as a note, happy to send a letter and to thank the Petroleum Club for a contribution to the Fire District, too, for a contribution of \$50 to the Fire District. Seeing no further discussion, please call the vote on the Consent Agenda."

VOTE

Commissioner Unruh	Aye
Commissioner Norton	Aye
Commissioner Parks	Absent
Commissioner Welshimer	Aye
Chairman Peterjohn	Aye

Chairman Peterjohn said, "Next item."

B. OTHER

Chairman Peterjohn said, "Any comments in here? If not, I will entertain, in fact, I'll make the motion that we adjourn the Fire District #1 meeting and return to the Board of County Commission meeting."

MOTION

Chairman Peterjohn moved to adjourn.

Commissioner Welshimer seconded the motion.

There was no discussion on the motion, the vote was called.

VOTE

Commissioner Unruh	Aye
Commissioner Norton	Aye
Commissioner Parks	Absent
Commissioner Welshimer	Aye
Chairman Peterjohn	Aye

Chairman Peterjohn said, "We're adjourning the Fire District #1 meeting."

C. ADJOURNMENT

There being no other business to come before the Board, the Meeting was adjourned at 11:14 a.m.

BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS OF SEDGWICK COUNTY, KANSAS

KARL PETERJOHN, Chairman Third District

DAVID M. UNRUH, Commissioner First District

TIM R. NORTON, Commissioner Second District

KELLY PARKS, Commissioner Fourth District

GWEN WELSHIMER, Commissioner Fifth District

ATTEST:

Kelly B. Arnold, County Clerk

APPROVED:

July 7, 2010