

David T. Dennis Chairman Commissioner - Third District

## Sarah Lopez Chair Pro Tem Commissioner – Second District

## BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS SEDGWICK COUNTY, KANSAS

100 N. BROADWAY • SUITE 660 • WICHITA, KANSAS 67202-2212 TELEPHONE (316) 660-9300 • FAX (316) 660-9330

August 25, 2022

## A Commitment from Your Elected Officials

The situation that occurred over the weekend involving a Sedgwick County Commissioner is disappointing and disturbing. This demonstrates to us, as elected officials that we must be ever-present and ever-vigilant to always have positive interactions with our community.

As County Commissioners, we represent more than a half-million people and our work is every day and at all hours. We do not take this responsibility lightly as we are a representative of the people and for the people. As a County Commission, we adopted a Code of Ethical Conduct in 2018, adopted by the Kansas County Commissioners Association that upholds six principles which includes under Principle 2 "modeling decorum, respect for others and civility in all public relationships" as an elected official.

It is important that, we, as elected officials take responsibility for our mistakes and show leadership to you, our constituents. The citizens of Sedgwick County deserve elected leaders who model respectful behaviors and professionalism to all we serve.

Sincerely,

David T. Dennis, Chairman Commissioner – Third District

Sarah Lopez, Chair Pro Tem Commissioner – Second District