MEETING OF THE BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS SITTING AS THE GOVERNING BODY OF FIRE DISTRICT #1

REGULAR MEETING

FEBRUARY 28, 1996

The Regular Meeting of the Board of County Commissioners of Sedgwick County, Kansas, Sitting as the Governing Body of Fire District #1, was called to order at 11:58 a.m., Wednesday, February 28, 1996, in the County Commission Meeting Room in the Courthouse in Wichita, Kansas, by Chairman Thomas G. Winters, with the following present: Chair Pro Tem Melody C. Miller; Commissioner Betsy Gwin; Commissioner Paul W. Hancock; Commissioner Mark F. Schroeder; Mr. William P. Buchanan, County Manager; Mr. Steve Plummer, County Counselor; Mr. David C. Spears, P.E., Director, Bureau of Public Services; Mr. Fred Ervin, Director, Public Relations; and Ms. Susan E. Crockett-Spoon, County Clerk.

ROLL CALL

The Clerk reported, after calling roll, all Commissioners were present.

APPROVAL OF MINUTESRegular Meeting, November 15, 1995Regular Meeting, December 20, 1995Regular Meeting, January 3, 1996

The Clerk reported that all Commissioners were present at the Regular Meetings of November 15, and December 20, 1995 and January 3, 1996.

Chairman Winters said, "Thank you. Commissioners, do I have a Motion for November 15, December 20, and January 3?"

MOTION

Commissioner Hancock moved to approve the Minutes of the Regular Meetings of November 15, and December 20, 1995, and January 3, 1996 as presented.

Commissioner Gwin second the Motion.

There was no discussion on the Motion, the vote was called.

VOTE

Commissioner Betsy Gwin	Aye
Commissioner Paul W. Hancock	Aye
Commissioner Melody C. Miller	Aye
Commissioner Mark F. Schroeder	Aye
Chairman Thomas G. Winters	Aye

<u>APPROVAL OF MINUTES</u> Regular Meeting, November 22, 1995

The Clerk reported that Commissioner Miller was absent at the Regular Meeting of November 22, 1995.

Chairman Winters said, "Thank you. Do we have a Motion for November 22?"

MOTION

Commissioner Hancock moved to approve the Minutes of November 22, 1995, as presented.

Commissioner Gwin second the Motion.

There was no discussion on the Motion, the vote was called.

VOTE

Commissioner Betsy Gwin	Aye
Commissioner Paul W. Hancock	Aye
Commissioner Melody C. Miller	Abstain
Commissioner Mark F. Schroeder	Aye
Chairman Thomas G. Winters	Aye

Chairman Winters said, "Thank you very much. Next item please."

CONSENT AGENDA

A. CONSENT AGENDA.

Budget Adjustment Request.

<u>Number</u>	<u>Department</u>	<u>Type of Adjustment</u>
960104	Fire Department	Transfer

Mr. William Buchanan, County Manager, said, "Commissioners, you have the consent agenda before you and I would recommend you approve it as it is presented."

MOTION

Commissioner Hancock moved to approve the Consent Agenda as presented.

Commissioner Miller second the Motion.

There was no discussion on the Motion, the Vote was called.

VOTE

Commissioner Betsy Gwin	Aye
Commissioner Paul W. Hancock	Aye
Commissioner Melody C. Miller	Aye
Commissioner Mark F. Schroeder	Aye
Chairman Thomas G. Winters	Aye

Chairman Winters said, "Thank you. One last item in the Fire agenda and I see Chief Curmode has left the room. I did want to express my appreciation to him and to others. Chief Curmode, this weekend, I was out at Bentley at the opening of their new Fire Station. Chief Curmode was there representing Sedgwick County and had some of the fire fighters there. I had a meeting in Andale this week and I needed his assistance and he very gladly made that meeting and I appreciate the effort that he is doing and so I just wanted to make that note. Mary, if you would pass that on to the Chief, I'd appreciate it. Any other business? We are adjourned."

B. OTHER

C. ADJOURNMENT

There being no other business to come before the Board, the Meeting was adjourned at 12:00 p.m.

BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS OF SEDGWICK COUNTY, KANSAS

THOMAS G. WINTERS, Chairman Third District

MELODY C. MILLER, Chair Pro Tem Fourth District

BETSY GWIN, Commissioner First District

PAUL W. HANCOCK, Commissioner Second District

MARK F. SCHROEDER, Commissioner Fifth District

ATTEST:

Susan E. Crockett-Spoon, County Clerk

APPROVED:

_____, 1996

Page No. 5