MEETING OF THE BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS SITTING AS THE GOVERNING BODY OF FIRE DISTRICT #1

REGULAR MEETING

August 12, 2009

The Regular Meeting of the Board of the County Commissioners of Sedgwick County, Kansas, was called to order at 10:38 a.m., on Wednesday, August 12, 2009, in the County Commission Meeting Room in the Courthouse in Wichita, Kansas, by Chairman Kelly Parks; with the following present: Chair Pro Tem Gwen Welshimer; Commissioner Tim R. Norton; Commissioner Karl Peterjohn; Mr. William P. Buchanan, County Manager; Ms. Jennifer Magana, Deputy County Counselor; Mr. Tim Millspaugh, Fire Marshal; and Ms. Katie Asbury, Deputy County Clerk.

ROLL CALL

The Clerk reported, after calling roll, that Commissioner Unruh was absent

CONSIDERATION OF MINUTES:

Fire District Meeting July 22, 2009 All Commissioners were present

MOTION

Commissioner Welshimer moved to accept the Minutes as read for the Fire District Meeting of July 22, 2009.

Commissioner Peterjohn seconded the motion.

There was no discussion on the motion, the vote was called.

VOTE

Commissioner Unruh	Absent
Commissioner Norton	Aye
Commissioner Peterjohn	Aye
Commissioner Welshimer	Aye
Chairman Parks	Aye

Regular Meeting, Fire District #1, August 12, 2009

NEW BUSINESS

A. AUTOMATIC AID FIRE RESPONSE AGREEMENT.

Mr. Tim Millspaugh, Fire Marshal, greeted the Commissioners and said, "What you have before you is an automatic aid agreement made between the Fire District and the City of Derby Fire and Rescue Department. What this provides is automatic dispatch and response to structure fires; be they in the City of Derby, where we would assist them with one engine company, or be they out in the Fire District outside of Derby, where they would assist us with one engine company in those areas. It enhances both ours and Derby's safety and response times and getting more people to the fire scene a little bit earlier. And we are so close down there together; we probably should be working side by side on fires that are within that area. What we ask is that you approve this Agreement and we can move on with that response."

Chairman Parks said, "I think all of us have had a chance to meet either one-on-one or two-ontwo with the Fire District and Fire Chief Millspaugh, I just want to say that there may be more of these forthcoming with other departments in the future, it's kind of the wave of the future, we've called them mutual aid agreements for some 50 years, and I guess the automatic response is a better way of putting it. When you're talking a structure fire, 15 to 30 seconds can make a lot of difference."

Mr. Millspaugh said, "Yes."

Chairman Parks said, "So I'm certainly supportive of this."

MOTION

Commissioner Peterjohn moved to approve the Agreement.

Commissioner Welshimer seconded the motion.

There was no discussion on the motion, the vote was called.

VOTE

Commissioner Unruh	Absent
Commissioner Norton	Aye
Commissioner Peterjohn	Aye
Commissioner Welshimer	Aye
Chairman Parks	Aye

Regular Meeting, Fire District #1, August 12, 2009

Mr. Millspaugh said, "Thank you, Commissioners."

Chairman Parks said, "Any other business to come before the Commission on the Fire District? Seeing no other business, we are adjourned."

B. OTHER

C. ADJOURNMENT

There being no other business to come before the Board, the Meeting was adjourned at 10:42 a.m.

Regular Meeting, Fire District #1, August 12, 2009

BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS OF SEDGWICK COUNTY, KANSAS

KELLY PARKS, Chairman, Fourth District

DAVID M. UNRUH, Commissioner, First District

TIM R. NORTON, Commissioner, Second District

KARL PETERJOHN, Commissioner, Third District

GWEN WELSHIMER, Commissioner, Fifth District

ATTEST:

Kelly B. Arnold, County Clerk

APPROVED:

September 9, 2009