

PUBLIC INFORMATION
316-660-9370 316-383-7946 WWW.SEDGWICKCOUNTY.ORG

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

November 9, 2017

CONTACT Kate Flavin 316-660-9370

Local heroes honored by Sedgwick County

(Sedgwick County, Kan.) – Sedgwick County's EMS employee association held its annual employee awards banquet on Friday, November 3. The event recognized individuals who have made outstanding contributions to Sedgwick County EMS and its mission to provide exceptional pre-hospital healthcare to citizens.

Paramedic Team of the Year - Captain Brian Falco, Major Kevin Lanterman, Captain Cole Mitchell, and Medic Amber Wharton were honored for their response and care of critically injured Wichita Police Officer Brian Arterburn in February. Arterburn's mother, Mary, attended the event and thanked the team for their care and service.

Lt. Bryon Johnson First Responder Award - Sedgwick County Sheriff Deputy Noah Stephens-Clark was honored for his quick-thinking actions that most likely saved the life of the victim, Mr. Cortney Holloway, at the Department of Revenue shooting in September. Holloway presented the award to Deputy Stephens-Clark.

Citizen Hero Award - Ryan Anderson, a local resident, was honored for his actions at an apartment fire last July. Anderson ran into a burning apartment and saved a small child from the blaze. He suffered minor burns from the fire. The child's family presented Anderson with the award and thanked him for his heroism.

ER Staff Person of the Year - Daytha Willson, RN, was recognized for her exceptional concern for EMS employees in her position as ER Charge Nurse at Via Christi. She has advocated for EMS inclusion in the Nurse and Healthcare Worker Protection Act which provides protections for all types of healthcare workers who are assaulted by patients.

Rookie of the Year - Paramedic David Lingg was honored as the most promising new hire at Sedgwick County EMS. He was nominated for his exceptional initiative, outstanding positive attitude, and work with paramedic students.

-more-

Director's Award – Captain Greg Gering, a 25 year veteran of Sedgwick County EMS, was honored for his vision and years of work in establishing an EMS Employee Association and honor guard.

-end-

Photos attached to this release were provided by the Sedgwick County EMS Employee Association.



Paramedic Team of the Year (left to right): Cole Mitchell, Kevin Lanterman, Mary Arterburn, Bryan Falco, Amber Wharton



Lt. Bryon Johnson First Responder Award: Sedgwick County Sheriff Deputy Noah Stephens-Clark and Mr. Cortney Holloway



Citizen Hero Award (left to right):

Back: Israel Machado, Yolanda Hernandez, Ryan Anderson, Jerimias Hernandez, Jonathan
Piper Front: Christopher Hernandez, Saideth Hernandez



ER Staff Person of the Year: Daytha Willson



Rookie of the Year: Paramedic David Lingg with his wife, Megan



Director's Award:
Captain Greg Gering with EMS Director Scott Hadley