

Sedgwick County Criminal Justice Criminal Justice Coordinating Council Bylaws amended January 2018

Article I: Name

The name of this Council is the Sedgwick County Criminal Justice Coordinating Council, and it will be referred to as the Council in the following bylaws.

Article II: Authority

The Sedgwick County Board of County Commissioners established the Council by resolution in February 2004.

Article III: Purpose

Section A: Principal Mission

The principal mission of the Council is to study the Sedgwick County criminal justice system to identify deficiencies, and formulate policies, plans, and programs for change when opportunities present themselves. In addition, it is the Council's mission to communicate and present planning, financial, operational, managerial, and programmatic recommendations to the agencies represented on the Council.

The Council is committed to providing the coordinated leadership necessary to establish cohesive public polices, which are based on research, evaluation, and monitoring of policy decisions and program implementations. The Council is committed to innovative corrections programs for adult offenders. Through a coordinated planning effort, the Council reviews, evaluates, and makes policy recommendations on vital criminal justice system issues.

Section B: Guiding Principles

The Council is committed to serve as the planning body for the Criminal Justice System in Sedgwick County.

Section C: Recommendations to the Elected Governing Body

The Council can make recommendations to public policy boards regarding criminal justice system issues.

Article IV: Members

Section A: Membership by Position

There are seventeen voting members of the Council who are members due to the position they hold. These seventeen members serve on the Council for as long as they occupy the position.



- Chief Judge, 18th Judicial District
- Administrative Judge, Municipal Court of the City of Wichita
- Sheriff of Sedgwick County
- Chief of Police, Wichita
- District Attorney, 18th Judicial District
- Chief Public Defender of Sedgwick County
- Chief Prosecutor for the City of Wichita
- Director of Sedgwick County Department of Corrections
- County Manager, Sedgwick County
- Two members of the Sedgwick County Board of County Commissioners
- One member from the Wichita City Council
- Executive Director, COMCARE of Sedgwick County
- Assistant County Manager of Public Safety, Code Enforcement, and Emergency Management
- Criminal Presiding Judge, 18th Judicial District
- One elected official from the Sedgwick County Association of Cities
- President of the Sedgwick County Association of Chiefs

Section B: Other members

The Sedgwick County Board of County Commissioners may appoint additional voting and "ex officio" members to the Council for such terms as the Commissioners shall deem appropriate.

Article V: Meetings

Section A: Regular Meetings

The Council will regularly meet on the fourth Thursday of the first month of each quarter from 10AM to 11AM (January, April, July, October). The Council may change the day, time, and frequency of meetings, as it deems necessary.

Section B: Designees

Council members may designate up to two chief staff persons to represent them at Council meetings. Any member wishing to appoint a designee is to identify the designee in written correspondence addressed to the Chair of the Council. Designees can be changed only by notifying the Chair in writing.

Section C: Quorum

A quorum is a simple majority of the total voting membership. Action may be taken by a majority of those present voting and by not less than a simple majority of the quorum.



Section D: Convening Special Meetings

The Chair of the Council may convene a special meeting. Written notice must be served at least 48 hours in advance. Only items included in the written notice may be discussed or considered.

Section E: Staff Support

Staff support for the Council will be provided through the Sedgwick County Manager's Office and report to the Council Liaison.

Section F: Council Liaison

The Assistant County Manager for Public Safety, Code Enforcement, and Emergency Management will serve as the Council Liaison among its members and with external groups. It will be the responsibility of the Liaison to encourage participation among stakeholders and ensure the Council's mission is being upheld.

Article VI: Chair

The Board of County Commissioners shall appoint the Council Chair. Instances when the Chair cannot attend the meeting, the Chair will designate a voting member to preside over the meeting. The Chair is appointed and serves at the pleasure of the Board of County Commissioners, without any designated term of service. If the appointed Chair resigns his/her appointment, or no longer occupies the position for which he/she was included as a voting member of the board, the Board of County Commissioners shall appoint a new Chair.

Article VII: Voting

Each voting member of the Council has one vote. Designees may vote on behalf of the voting member. Ex Officio members may not vote.

Article VIII: Committees

To expedite and facilitate the business of the Council and the orderly and efficient consideration of matters coming before it, the Council may establish standing and/or temporary committees, task forces, or other working relationships, as it deems necessary.

Article IX: Parliamentary Authority

Parliamentary procedures will not be required as a normal practice of decision making. Respectful dialog and consensus are the preferred norm for the conduct of the Council business.



In the event that any member requests a formal vote of the members on any issue, *Robert's Rules of Order*, revised, governs the voting process except in instances of conflict between the rules of order and the bylaws of the Council or provision of law, which shall take precedence.

Article X: Amendment of Bylaws

Proposed amendments to the bylaws are to be included on the agenda of a regularly scheduled meeting. Any action in response to the proposed change in the bylaws taken by the Council becomes effective immediately. Council amendments to bylaws must be approved by a minimum of two thirds (2/3) of voting members appointed to the Council.