

NEWS

STRATEGIC COMMUNICATIONS
316-660-9370 WWW.SEDGWICKCOUNTY.ORG

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

January 16, 2019

CONTACT Kate Flavin 316-660-9370

Chairman's Award Presented to Wichita Public School's JROTC

(Sedgwick County, Kan.) – Today Sedgwick County Commission Chairman David Dennis presented the 2018 Chairman's Award to Wichita Public School's JROTC/ Leadership Corps. "These students are involved in the community and support businesses," said Chairman Dennis. "They are extraordinary future leaders who will no doubt make a tremendous impact in our community."

Each year since 1988, the chairman of the Board of Sedgwick County selects one organization, project or person that has exhibited a high level of dedication to public service, or otherwise made strides to improving our community. Some past recipients of this award include: the Patriot Guard, Sedgwick County Sheriff's Office Community Policing Unit, the Wichita Independent Business Association (WIBA), and the Sedgwick County Zoological Society.

-end-

About Sedgwick County

Established in 1867 and located in south-central Kansas, Sedgwick County is home to more than 500,000 residents and occupies 1,008 square miles of land. The county holds 21 municipalities including the county seat, Wichita, the largest city in Kansas and known as the Air Capital of the World as a global leader in aviation manufacturing services. Sedgwick County's 2019 Adopted Budget of \$439,530,621 focuses on its key priorities (Safe and Secure Communities, Public Services and Cultural Experiences, Effective Government Organization, and Communications and Engagement). Sedgwick County, which will celebrate its 150th anniversary in 2020, bears the name of a Civil War hero, Major General John Sedgwick of the Union Army.