

Sedgwick County... working for you NEWS

> STRATEGIC COMMUNICATIONS 316-660-9370 WWW.SEDGWICKCOUNTY.ORG

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE January 16, 2019 CONTACT Kate Flavin 316-660-9370

New Chair and Chair Pro Tem Selected

(Sedgwick County, Kan.) – During the January 16 meeting of the Board of County Commissioners, Third District Commissioner David T. Dennis was selected to be the Chairman again. First District Commissioner Pete Meitzner was selected to be the new Chair Pro Tem. Both will serve in these roles through January 8, 2020.

"It's my honor to represent the nearly 3,000 employees who embody our motto of working for you," said Chairman Dennis. "I appreciate the trust my fellow commissioners have put in me."

-end-

About Sedgwick County

Established in 1867 and located in south-central Kansas, Sedgwick County is home to more than 500,000 residents and occupies 1,008 square miles of land. The county holds 21 municipalities including the county seat, Wichita, the largest city in Kansas and known as the Air Capital of the World as a global leader in aviation manufacturing services. Sedgwick County's 2019 Adopted Budget of \$439,530,621 focuses on its key priorities (Safe and Secure Communities, Public Services and Cultural Experiences, Effective Government Organization, and Communications and Engagement). Sedgwick County, which will celebrate its 150th anniversary in 2020, bears the name of a Civil War hero, Major General John Sedgwick of the Union Army.