RESOLUTION NO. 235-2019

Published on:	
Effective Ur	on Publication

A RESOLUTION MODIFYING CHAPTER 16 OF THE SEDGWICK COUNTY CODE REGARDING INMATE GRIEVANCE PROCEDURES BY RESCINDING SEDGWICK COUNTY RESOLUTION NO. 135-2005.

WHEREAS, the Board of County Commissioners established an Inmate Administrative Claim Procedure pursuant to Resolution No. 135-2005 on August 24, 2005; and

WHEREAS, on October 1, 2019, Sedgwick County Sheriff Jeffrey T. Easter issued General Order No. 107.11 establishing updated inmate grievance procedures for the Sedgwick County Detention Facility in accordance with current state and federal law; and

WHEREAS, in consideration of General Order 107.11, and with the goals of reducing duplication of process and fostering efficiency and clarity, the County's Inmate Administrative Claim Procedure need no longer be used; and

WHEREAS, the Board of County Commissioners believes it would be appropriate to rescind Resolution No. 135-2005.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED THAT THE BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS OF SEDGWICK COUNTY, KANSAS, AMENDS THE SEDGWICK COUNTY CODE AS FOLLOWS:

SECTION 1. SEDGWICK COUNTY RESOLUTION NO. 135-2005 IS RESCINDED.

Sedgwick County Resolution No. 135-2005 is hereby rescinded. Accordingly, Chapter 16, Article IV of the *Sedgwick County Code* is also rescinded.

SECTION 2. PUBLICATION AND EFFECTIVE DATE.

Upon the adoption of this Resolution, the Clerk of Sedgwick County shall publish this Resolution once in the official County newspaper and it shall become effective upon publication.

Commissioners present and voting were:

ATTEST:

PETE MEITZNER MICHAEL B. O'DONNELL, II **DAVID T. DENNIS** LACEY CRUSE JAMES M. HOWELL Dated this 23 day of October **BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS** OF SEDGWICK COUNTY, KANSAS DAVID T. DENNIS, Chairman KELLY B. ARNOLD, O Commissioner, Third District Absent PETE MEITZNER, Chair Pro Tem Commissioner, First District APPROVED AS TO FORM: MICHAEL B. O'DONNELL, II Commissioner, Second District MICHAEL L. FESSINGER Assistant County Counselor Commissioner, Fourth District

Commissioner, Fifth District