

Fire District 1 Steering Council Meeting

> 7750 N. Wyandotte Way Park City, KS 67147 316-660-3473

October 19, 2023

Fire District 1 Attendees: Fire Chief Doug Williams, Deputy Chief Kevin Nelson, and Clerk Janelle Davey

Fire District 1 Steering Council Attendees: Jim Benage /Bel Aire, Russ Lowen/Goddard, Susie Sutton/Haysville, Mike Strelow/Maize, Katie Bowen/Park City, Jeff Witherspoon/Bentley, Andy Hall/Spirit AeroSystems, Carl Amerine/Derby, Katy Jackman Tyndell/At Large Member from Unincorporated Areas

Special Guests: Medical Training Officer Jonathan Halley and Assistant County Manager Rusty Leeds

- I. Call to Order: Chairman Amerine
- II. Roll Call

Steering Council	
Carl Amerine	Present
Katy Jackman Tyndell	Present *
Jim Benage	Present
Russ Lowen	Present
Susie Sutton	Present
Mike Strelow	Present
Katie Bowen	Present
Jeff Witherspoon	Not Present
Andy Hall	Present

*Due to traffic accident on K96 Katy arrived after roll call was taken

- III. Pledge of Allegiance
- IV. Approval of previous meeting minutes

Carl Amerine - Item four (4) here is approval of previous meeting minutes. Did anyone have any corrections or additions to previous meeting minutes?

Katie Bowen - Only thing I saw that my last name was used on both Katie's during the attendance or something. I did notice that.

Carl Amerine - Okay I make a motion to approve the last meeting minutes [September 21, 2023] with the correction for Katie's last name.

Event:	Meeting Minutes
Motion:	Carl Amerine
Second:	Susie Sutton
Carl Amerine	Aye
Katy Jackman Tyndell	Aye
Jim Benage	Aye
Russ Lowen	Aye
Susie Sutton	Aye
Mike Strelow	Aye
Katie Bowen	Aye
Jeff Witherspoon	Absent
Andy Hall	Ауе

V. Fire Union Discussion

Carl Amerine - Roman numeral five (5) here is the Fire Union discussion. There's been a letter composed by the Vice Chair, and we can talk about that here in a second. And there's a proposed action as well, thanks to the Mayor (Benage), also for helping us streamline our process here. I do like the way our agenda has been set up. So Katy, do you want to start?

i. Review letter composed by Vice Chair Katy Jackman Tyndell

Action: Adopt motion to authorize the Chairman to sign a letter to the Fire Board urging them to (re)adopt the Kansas Public Employee-Employer Relations Act (PEERA) as soon as practicable and, immediately thereafter, to (re)recognize International Association of Fire Fighters (IAFF) Local 2612 ("Local 2612") as the official collective bargaining union representing the firefighters of Fire District 1.

Event:	Letter to Fire Board as written
Motion:	Andy Hall
Second:	Jim Benage
Carl Amerine	-
Katy Jackman Tyndell	-
Jim Benage	-
Russ Lowen	-
Susie Sutton	-
Mike Strelow	-
Katie Bowen	-
Jeff Witherspoon	Absent

Andy Hall	-
-----------	---

Discussion:

Jim Benage - I will second to the motion. But I would like to make a comment for the record. I think that this is the right thing to do and the reason is the purpose of unions is to help management make sure that the members of the union needs are properly addressed. And I think in the short tenure of this committee, we've seen a couple of situations where that just wasn't happening and I think it's because of that, that it's wise for the Fire Board to adopt or reinstate recognition of the union.

Susie Sutton - I'm also in support of it. But I would like a comment added that I am in support of it also because it allows the Chief (Williams) to focus on running the fire department instead of constantly addressing issues with the management of Sedgwick County. Instead of taking away his attention from running a fire department by having the union and a contract with the union, everything will be laid out for three (3) years at a time. So he won't have to fight constantly [to] negotiate different policies.

Katy Jackman Tyndell - Okay, I would make a motion then to amend the current motion that's on the agenda to just delete everything after PEERA.

Andy Hall - So I'll amend my motion, amend my motion to remove the recognition of the local 2612 as the official collective bargaining agreement.

Jim Benage - All right I second the amended motion.

Action: Adopt motion to authorize the Chairman to sign a letter to the Fire Board urging them to (re)adopt the Kansas Public Employee-Employer Relations Act (PEERA) as soon as practicable.

Event:	Letter to Fire Board as amended
Motion:	Andy Hall
Second:	Jim Benage
Carl Amerine	Aye
Katy Jackman Tyndell	Ауе
Jim Benage	Aye
Russ Lowen	Aye
Susie Sutton	Aye
Mike Strelow	Aye
Katie Bowen	Aye
Jeff Witherspoon	Absent
Andy Hall	Aye

- VI. Light Duty, Injury Leave, and Parental leave policy review: FD Staff
 - i. Proposed Light Duty policy update

No Action taken

ii. Injury Leave explanation

No Action taken

iii. Parental Leave policy impact

No Action taken

Council Member Jim Benage left the meeting at 1902

- VII. Advanced Care Provider Pay discussion: FD Staff Jonathan Halley Medical Training Officer
 - i. ACP's needed / impact of more ACP's
 - ii. Additional equipment needed
 - iii. Benefits to the Fire District residents

Action: Adopt motion to authorize the Chairman to sign a letter to the Fire Board in support of advanced care incentive pay.

Event:	Letter to Fire Board in Support of Advance Care Incentive Pay
Motion:	Andy Hall
Second:	Russ Lowen
Carl Amerine	-
Katy Jackman Tyndell	-
Jim Benage	Absent *
Russ Lowen	-
Susie Sutton	-
Mike Strelow	-
Katie Bowen	-
Jeff Witherspoon	Absent
Andy Hall	-

*Jim Benage left the meeting at 1902

Discussion: After discussion Andy Hall and Russ Lowen rescinded their motions and No Action Taken.

VIII. Fire Chief Update

i. Mechanic pay

Discussed and Chief Williams will report on status at next meeting.

- ii. Vehicle Purchase plan
 - 1. (2) Battalion Response Vehicles
 - 2. (1) Staff Vehicle

Action: Adopt motion to approve the purchase of three staff vehicles to replace older vehicles.

Discussed and No Action Taken as this is a part of the adopted fleet plan.

- iii. ISO Review
- iv. Recruit graduation

IX. Meeting Adjournment

Event:	Adjournment
Motion:	Andy Hall
Second:	Katy Jackman Tyndell
Carl Amerine	Aye
Katy Jackman Tyndell	Aye
Jim Benage	Absent
Russ Lowen	Aye
Susie Sutton	Aye
Mike Strelow	Aye
Katie Bowen	Aye
Jeff Witherspoon	Absent
Andy Hall	Aye

Meeting adjourned at 2025