The Kansas Department of Health and Environment (KDHE) issues permits to businesses and cities that release wastewater to any surface water. All wastewater discharge permits are specific to each site. These permits detail the rate at which water can be released, the monitoring that must be performed, and the reports that must be submitted to KDHE.

Municipal wastewater treatment plants and municipal wastewater lagoons are located throughout Sedgwick County. Properly treated water from all wastewater facilities is discharged to nearby creeks or rivers. Wichita is adding new technology to address odor issues and is planning to build an additional wastewater treatment plant near the airport.

The Cowskin Creek Water Quality Reclamation Facility is Wichita's newest wastewater treatment plant. Biological nutrient removal, tertiary filtration, and ultraviolet disinfection are used to treat the water. Discharge is stored in two ponds that are open to the public for recreational fishing before being released to Cowskin Creek.

Sedgwick County enforces regulations for residential on-site wastewater systems. View a map of the municipal wastewater facilities below.

Municipal Wastewater Facilities