Skip to main content

For Immediate Release
March 23, 2022
Nicole Gibbs


2022 April Burn Ban

(Sedgwick County, Kan.) – Sedgwick County Fire District 1 is reminding residents that a burn ban imposed by the state of Kansas will be in effect in Sedgwick County during the month of April.

New open burn permits will not be issued during the month of April and no current permit holders have been allowed to conduct open burns after March 31, 2022. Open burns may resume after May 1, 2022.

The ban includes all open burning of any waste, including vegetation and wood waste, structures, or other material on any premises.

The following counties will be affected along with Sedgwick County: Butler, Chase, Chautauqua, Cowley, Elk, Geary, Greenwood, Johnson, Lyon, Marion, Morris, Pottawatomie, Riley, Wabaunsee and Wyandotte.

Exceptions to the open burn ban include pasture, crop, range and wildlife or watershed management. The allowed burning operations will still require a valid permit from Sedgwick County Fire District 1. Burn permits may be requested online at or by calling 316-660-3473.

Always call 911 before you burn. The Kansas Department of Health & Environment open burning regulations still apply (K.A.R. 28-19-645 through K.A.R. 28-19-648).

Questions regarding the burn ban or general fire safety should be directed to the Sedgwick County Fire Marshal office 316-660-3473.


Facts & Details regarding Burning Permits and Restrictions