Skip to main content

For Immediate Release
March 20, 2020
Kate Flavin


Commissioners Vote to Close Majority of County Facilities through April 5

(Sedgwick County, Kan.) – Due to the spread of COVID-19, the Board of Sedgwick County Commissioners voted to close a majority of County facilities to the public through Sunday, April 5. They are tentatively scheduled to reopen Monday, April 6.

“We are taking preventative measures to limit our employees’ and residents’ exposure to one another in order to do our part to flatten the curve,” said County Commission Chairman Pete Meitzner. “Our community must continue to step up and do what they can to stop the spread of COVID-19.”

The primary facility that will remain open but will have limited public access is the main courthouse, 525 N. Main. Access will be available for limited 18th Judicial District Court functions and attorneys.

Public safety and mental health services such as COMCARE’s Community Crisis Center will remain operational.

Sedgwick County Tag Offices are not included in this closure. Residents can renew their tags online, by mail, or in person.

Employees who can work from home will. Employees listed as essential emergency (ie. paramedics, law enforcement, mental health professionals, and corrections officers) will continue to report to work as normal. Employees who are prevented from performing their duties at home or otherwise, may be temporarily re-assigned to a different function.  Employees reporting to work will maintain appropriate distancing.

Residents who wish to do business with the County and departments closed to the public (Appraiser’s Office, MABCD) may conduct their business by phone, email, or by appointment only.