Skip to main content

For Immediate Release
January 10, 2024
Stephanie Birmingham


Greater Wichita Partnership receives Chairman’s Award

(Sedgwick County, Kan.) – Before handing over the reins today as Chairman of the Sedgwick County Board of County Commissioners (BoCC), Pete Meitzner presented the 2023 Chairman’s Award to the Greater Wichita Partnership, an economic development organization that works to accelerate growth in the region.

 “Since its inception in 2015, the Greater Wichita Partnership has created a synergy between the public and private sectors to promote our talented workforce, attract new companies and cultivate Sedgwick County’s reputation as a world-class business destination,” said BoCC Chairman Pete Meitzner. “Last year alone, GWP fostered 67 new projects in at least eight different industries.”

 GWP’s accomplishments in 2023 include:

  • Integra Techologies announced plans to build its headquarters in Bel Aire.
  • QuickStep of Australia selected Wichita for its first aerospace composite manufacturing site in the U.S.
  • Charlotte Pipe & Foundry chose Maize to build an $80 million manufacturing facility.
  • Groover Labs opened a $5 million technology hub in downtown Wichita.
  • JTM Foods, LLC opened a new facility in Wichita.
  • New business growth is expected to create hundreds of new jobs.
  • New construction in the region totaled 829,200 square feet.
  • Project Downtown 2035 outlines a 10-year plan to generate investments in Wichita’s core area.

 “What the Greater Wichita Partnership has achieved this year is a new level of corporate growth that I haven’t seen in Sedgwick County in a long time,” said Meitzner. “All of these projects have created an exciting sense of momentum in the business community that I’m confident will lead to more industry innovation and expansion in the future.” 

The Chairman’s Award began in 1988, as an opportunity for the BoCC chair to highlight one organization, project, or person who has exhibited a high dedication to public service or otherwise made strides to improve our community. Some past recipients of this award include the Patriot Guard, Sedgwick County Sheriff’s Office Community Policing Unit, the Wichita Independent Business Association (WIBA) and the Sedgwick County Zoological Society.

 During the Jan. 10 meeting of the Board of County Commissioners, 4th District Commissioner Ryan Baty was selected to serve as the new Chairman, and 2nd District Commissioner Sarah Lopez was chosen to be the new Chair Pro Tem. Both will fill these roles until Jan. 8, 2025.