Skip to main content

For Immediate Release
June 26, 2023
Stephanie Birmingham


Report Nuisances through the Non-Emergency Line

(Sedgwick County, Kan.) – The Sedgwick County Courthouse and Sedgwick County offices will be closed Tuesday, July 4 in observance of Independence Day. Emergency services are available by dialing or texting 9-1-1.

The Sedgwick County Emergency Communications’ non-emergency phone line, 316-290-1011, will be available 6 p.m. through 3 a.m. from June 30 – July 5, 2023. This line functions as an alternative to 9-1-1 and is meant to receive calls for non-emergency nuisances that do not pose a threat to life or property; examples include complaints about parties, excess noise, and fireworks. The non-emergency line was established to prevent an influx of nuisance calls that can block emergency calls from reaching a call taker.

As fireworks sales begin this week, keep in mind that each city determines its own rules when fireworks can be sold and discharged. Sedgwick County Fire District 1 (SCFD) covers ten cities, including Andale, Bel Aire, Bentley, Garden Plain, Goddard, Haysville, Kechi, Maize, Park City and Viola. Residents are encouraged to visit 2023 Firework Discharge and Sale Dates and Times | Sedgwick County, Kansas to find out when they can legally buy and shoot fireworks where they live.

The size and kind of fireworks allowed in each city also varies, so residents are advised to buy fireworks where they plan to discharge them. For example, aerial fireworks now allowed in the City of Wichita are NOT considered legal in other areas of Sedgwick County. Check with your local municipality for specific fireworks regulations.

SCFD encourages residents to use caution when discharging fireworks. Watch to learn safety tips for a fun Fourth of July celebration!