Excellence in Public Service Award

Nomination Period: Feb. 1-29, 2024

Residents, co-workers, directors, and supervisors are encouraged to nominate public service employees for the annual Excellence in Public Service Award.

Now in its 35th year, the award recognizes employees from City of Wichita, Sedgwick County and Wichita Public Schools who exhibit the highest standard of service.

The nomination process is open through 5 p.m., February 29. Nominations can be submitted on Form Center • Excellence in Public Service Nomination Form (civicplus.com). English and Spanish forms are available. Nomination forms are also available in the City Manager’s Office, the County Manager’s Office and Wichita Public Schools’ Strategic Communications Office.

The Excellence in Public Service Award honors public employees who go beyond the call of duty and demonstrate the following:

Honorees will be selected by a committee comprised of nine public and private sector representatives. In April, they will be surprised at work by their supervisors, colleagues, selection committee members and media. The winners will receive $2,500 and will be honored at a reception attended by family, friends, co-workers, previous honorees, the selection committee and members of the DeVore Foundation in May. The Excellence in Public Service Award is sponsored by the DeVore Foundation and KSN.

List of County Honorees