About the Department on Aging

Mission Statement

Assisting seniors, caregivers and persons with disabilities to achieve improved health and greater independence.

Vision Statement

We envision a community that empowers and supports individuals to live and age with dignity and choice.

About the Department

The Sedgwick County Department of Aging and Disabilities provides services for older adults and individuals with disabilities in Sedgwick County to assist them in maintaining their independence and reduce institutionalization.

The Department of Aging and Disabilities is responsible for planning and coordinating a comprehensive service delivery system. Special emphasis is given to the needs of low-income, and minority residents to delay or prevent costly institutionalization. The department’s focus is on providing supportive services along with information and options that will allow individuals to remain in their home for as long as possible.

Sedgwick County Department of Aging and Disability is here for you. For information, resources or programs available please contact the Resource Center at 855-200-2372 or click here to submit a question.  How may we assist you?

Advisory Council

The Sedgwick County Advisory Council on Aging & Physical Disabilities role is to act as an advocate on behalf of older adults and individuals with physical disabilities in Sedgwick County. The Council assists the department in identification of service needs and gaps, provides feedback and recommendations on addressing the needs of older residents and individuals with a disability to enhance individuals ability to age in the community. The council meets on the second Wednesday of each month at 12:30 p.m.


Frances Seidl - Commissioner Meitzner (District 1)
Debbie Willsie - Commissioner Meitzner (District 1)
Kim Landers (Chair) - Commissioner Lopez (District 2)
Craig Perbeck - Commissioner Lopez (District 2 Kristen McDaniel - Commissioner Lopez (District 2) Rita Sevart - Commissioner Dennis (District 3)
Madison Shriner (Vice Chair) - Commissioner Cruse (District 4)
Lavonta Williams - Commissioner Cruse (District 4)
Ronald Colbert - Commissioner Cruse (District 4)
Jim Burgess - Commissioner Howell (District 5)
Jeri Myers- Commissioner Howell (District 5)

For more information about the Sedgwick County Advisory Council on Aging & Physical Disabilities call the Resource Center at 855-200-2372.