Printable version
For Immediate Release
June 21, 2013
Amanda Matthews
Kristi Zukovich

Fireworks Safety

Summer is well underway and Independence Day celebrations are right around the corner. While fireworks are often used to celebrate the holiday, it is important to remember that fireworks can be dangerous if not handled properly.

In Sedgwick County:

Permitted fireworks may be possessed and ignited from July 1 through July 4 in all unincorporated areas of Sedgwick County. However, it is illegal to sell or buy fireworks in the unincorporated areas of Sedgwick County.

Sedgwick County’s fireworks laws reflect those of the state of Kansas:

  • Specifically permitted: all fireworks classified as consumer (1.4g) fireworks by DOT, except certain rockets.
  • Specifically prohibited: any rockets mounted on a wire or stick, or any device containing such rockets.

New in 2013:

It is unlawful to sell, ignite or otherwise use aerial luminaries, commonly referred to as sky lanterns. Violations of this code shall carry a fine of $1,000 for each offense.

Shooting fireworks inside Sedgwick County municipalities:

Fireworks laws within city limits vary across the county. Check with your municipality about their regulations before you purchase or shoot fireworks.

Non-emergency fireworks complaint line:

In 2012, Sedgwick County 911 established and staffed a non-emergency line reserved for fireworks complaints. The addition helped keep emergency lines open and ready to take emergency calls. The same line will be staffed in 2013 between the hours of 6 p.m. and 3 a.m. July 4, 5 and 6. The number is 290-1011 and is reserved for fireworks complaints. If fireworks cause injury or damage to property that requires assistance from police officers, firefighters or EMS paramedics, call 9-1-1.

For more information concerning fireworks safety and regulations, visit