Printable version

News Releases

For Immediate Release
June 28, 2018
Kate Flavin


Independence Day in Sedgwick County 2018

The Sedgwick County Courthouse and Sedgwick County offices will be closed Wednesday, July 4 in observance of the Independence Day holiday. Emergency services are available by dialing 9-1-1. 

The Sedgwick County Emergency Communications’ non-emergency phone line, 316-290-1011, will be available during the following hours:

6:00 p.m., June 30, to 2:30 a.m., July 1

6:00 p.m., July 1, to 2:30 a.m., July 2

6:00 p.m., July 2, to 2:30 a.m., July 3

6:00 p.m., July 3, to 2:30 a.m., July 4

6:00 p.m., July 4, to 2:30 a.m., July 5 

This line functions as an alternative to 911 and is meant to receive calls for non-emergency nuisances that do not pose a threat to life or property; examples include complaints pertaining to parties, excess noise, fireworks, etc. 

The non-emergency line was established to prevent an influx of nuisance calls that can block emergency calls from reaching a call taker; the non-emergency line is activated during times of historically high call volumes and as otherwise needed.  If someone calls 9-1-1 with a non-emergency, he or she will be transferred to the non-emergency line. 

In order to ensure everyone has a safe holiday, residents should be aware of regulations on fireworks sales and discharges in Sedgwick County municipalities and unincorporated areas. This information is available at