Fireworks in Sedgwick County

Sedgwick County Laws

Fireworks may be possessed and shot from July 1 through the Independence Day federal holiday in all unincorporated areas of Sedgwick County. However, it is illegal to sell or buy fireworks in the unincorporated areas of Sedgwick County.

Sedgwick County's fireworks laws reflect those of the state of Kansas:

Shooting Fireworks in Cities Inside Sedgwick County

Fireworks laws within the limits of cities vary across the county. Check with your municipality about their regulations before you purchase or shoot fireworks.

Fireworks Safety Tips

Firework Storage

If you are in the unincorporated areas or a city in the Fire District that allows fireworks, you generally cannot sell or store fireworks. To sell or store fireworks in a building, you must get prior approval from the Sedgwick County Fire District 1.

Commercial Firework Permits

Persons wishing to shoot commercial fireworks must be a state-licensed fireworks display operator, provide liability insurance for the display, complete and submit a Commercial Fireworks Display Permit Application, pay for the permit, and comply with all rules. See Commercial Fireworks Display Application Requirements.

Firework display permits may be obtained at the following locations: