Join Our Team

About Fire District 1

132 Operations personnel deploy out of 9 Fire Stations on a 3-shift rotation - 24/7, 365 days a year.

Qualifications | Benefits | Apply | Ride Out Program | Specialized Response Teams

Minimum Qualifications for a Sedgwick County Entry-Level Firefighter

Sedgwick County offers the following:

Competitive Wages
Starting at $53,464.32 with step levels up to $80,869.58 for firefighters.

Lots of opportunities for professional development
and career growth

Kansas, Police & Fire (KPF) Retirement Plan

Eight Weeks Paid Parental leave

Vacation - Starting at five 24-hour shifts off, with more added for years of service

Medical, Vision and Dental Insurance

Sick Leave - 144 hours annually

Prescription Drug Plan

Tuition Reimbursement - Up to six credit hours per semester (passing grade of C or better)

Life Insurance

Eleven Paid Legal Holidays

Flexible Spending Accounts


What does a day in the life of a SCFD 1 Firefighter look like?

SCFD1 Ride Out Program

Ride along with a fire crew and get hands on experience with some of the job duties of a firefighter.

Specialized Response Teams

Hazardous Materials Team
The Hazardous Materials Team is part of a larger local task force comprised of members from Sedgwick County Fire District 1, the Wichita Fire Department, Sedgwick County Emergency Management, and the Sedgwick County Health Department. Personnel from all four agencies may respond in the event of a large-scale incident. Currently the HazMat Task Force operates under four levels of response known as incident leveling. Depending on the severity of the alarm, anywhere from a single unit up to 10 units may be dispatched on an alarm.  Sedgwick County Fire District 1 also serves as part of the Kansas State Fire Marshal’s Office Hazardous Materials Regional Response Team. The team’s primary responsibility is to assist in South Central Kansas counties; however, the team may work throughout the state.

Technical Rescue Team
The Technical Rescue Team is a specialized group of firefighters that responds to emergency calls involving confined spaces, high-angle, standing/swift water, trench cave-ins, and building collapses. The team responds jointly on a larger scale with other technical rescue teams in the area as a part of Kansas Task Force 5.  Kansas Task Force 5 is a regional response team that can be deployed throughout the state of Kansas to assist in the event of natural and/or man-made disasters.