April Burn Ban

Why is there an April Burn Ban?

Controlled burns are used by farmers and ranchers every spring in Kansas. While these burns are useful for preventing the risk of wildfires, eliminating weeds, and improving the soil, they can affect the air quality. Burning vegetative matter can introduce soot, ash, carbon monoxide, volatile organic compounds (VOCs), sulfur oxide and nitrogen oxide into the air.

These increased particulates can put the health of infants, seniors, and those with heart, lung or anemic diseases at a higher risk.

To counteract the increased strain on the air we breathe during this time, Sedgwick County has a burn ban in place every April.

What does this mean for residents of Sedgwick County?

What’s the difference between agricultural and open burning?

Agricultural burn permits are issued to landowners who are typically burning pastures, ranging in size from a few to thousands of acres. Open burn permits are typically issued for smaller burns, such as a small volume brush pile.

Which other counties have burn bans in place?

Butler, Chase, Chautauqua, Cowley, Elk, Geary, Greenwood, Johnson, Lyon, Marion, Morris, Pottawatomie, Riley, Wabaunsee and Wyandotte.

For questions about the ban, burn permits or fire safety in general contact:

Sedgwick County Fire Marshall