Local Emergency Planning Committee (LEPC)

LEPC Officers Needed:

The Sedgwick County LEPC has need of an LEPC Chair and Secretary. To volunteer, please contact us at LEPC@sedgwick.gov.

The mission of the Sedgwick County Local Emergency Planning Committee (LEPC) shall be to fulfill the requirements of the Superfund Amendments and Reauthorization Act of 1986, commonly known as SARA Title III. In addition, the LEPC shall be an all-hazards planning committee to include: information sharing, community planning, exercise design/implementation, the critique of emergency incidents—real or exercised, other activities aimed at efficient, compassionate, and rapid response to disaster survivors’, care-givers’, and workers’ needs in times of disasters.

As required by the Emergency Planning and Community-Right-to-Know Act (Public Law 99-499) and K.S.A. 65-5701 et seq., the public is provided with notice through this website that Emergency Operations Plans, Material Safety Data Sheets (MSDSs) and Tier II forms have been submitted by the regulated business entities within Sedgwick County and are available for inspection at Sedgwick County Emergency Management, 714 N. Main St., Wichita, Kansas 67203 during normal business hours from 8:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m. Monday through Friday.

If you wish to contact the Local Emergency Planning Committee (LEPC), please e-mail the committee at LEPC@sedgwick.gov.

What's new for the LEPC in 2021? The Sedgwick County Business Safety Recognition Program!

This will be our first year to recognize the dedication and efforts of our Tier II businesses who have spent the past year working hard to improve their business safety. Over the next several weeks we will distribute a survey to local Tier II businesses. We will be evaluating those who made the commitment to improve not only the safety of their employees and business, but also their efforts to improve safety for our community as well. 

Those businesses that have the highest ratings will be spotlighted in Splurge Magazine as well as becoming a recipient of our Business Safety Recognition Award!

For our Tier II businesses: keep your eyes open for stage one of the screening process. A survey will be coming your way soon.

If you have questions you can reach out to Ann Houk, LEPC Chair, at ahouk@kansashomehealth.com, Dan Fenn with C3 Safety at c3safetyllc@gmail.com or Thomas Bedard with Accuweather at thomas.bedard@accuweather.com.

LEPC – HMEP Exercise Series Dates 2022:

Workshop, Tabletop & Full Scale: Dates and location pending

Contact the LEPC for specific participation and/or sign up procedures, unless already specified.

2021 Virtual Meetings:

February 18
Meeting Minutes
February slides

May 20
Meeting Minutes
May Meeting slides

August 19
Meeting Minutes
August Meeting slides

November 18 - 2 p.m.
Dial by your location:  1-346-248-7799
Meeting ID: 869 3836 5579
**Presenter Daniel Fenn c3Safety 

2022 Meetings

The schedule for the 2022 LEPC meetings, the presenters, and other details can be found here.